Historical Society

Westminster is nestled at the foot of Mount Wachusett, the highest mountain in central Massachusetts. The Town is approximately 37 square miles and the land is approximately 1000 feet above sea level.  A significant portion of the land is owned by the Commonwealth, and many lakes and rivers create a large watershed for the Nashua River.  Westminster is 45 miles west of Boston and lies on both the Old Boston Turnpike and the historic Mohawk Trail.  Westminster was unsettled territory in the 18th Century.  The land was designated to be given as payment to Soldiers who fought in the French and Indian War, but many were not interested in leaving the comforts of home to settle in the New England wilderness. 

Originally called "Narragansett Number Two" in deference to the many Indian tribes who lived in the region, as the population grew, it became a district in 1759 and assumed the name Westminster, a name rooted in traditions of the minister in old England.  Westminster became became fully incorporated in 1770.

Early Westminster history - from 1727-1959 - is rich with stories and characters who lived in town and connected Westminster with major events in this Country and around the World.

Notown Road got its name because it really went to "no town."  It went to a tract of land that was unincorporated by any of the towns that surround it - Fitchburg, Leominster, Princeton, and Westminster.  In 1838, "No Town" was divided into three parcels and annexed onto Leominster, Princeton, and Westminster.  In 1923, this land came back together as Leominster State Forest.  Today, Leominster State Forest is 4,300 acres of land in the five towns: Fitchburg, Leominster, Princeton, Sterling, and Westminster.  While Notown Road still does not lead to a town, today, it does lead to great swimming, hiking, biking and rock climbing in Crow Hill Pond and along the trails created by the Civilian Conservation Corps in the 1930's.

westminster History